Organisation

Organisation and management at Polo Park Zürich

Organisation of trainings and lessons

The club trainer and polo manager, Francisco Podesta, is responsible for training and lessons at Polo Park Zürich. He is an Argentinian professional and coaches group trainings and game tactics every Thursday from 7 to 8 pm. Private trainings, team trainings and private lessons can also be arranged. If desired, club members’ ponies can be trained by PPZ’s employees. Francisco Podesta is also pleased to accept registrations for trial lessons. You can contact him from May until September at +41-79-424 28 14.

Francisco Podesta – the club manager

If you ask Francisco Podesta where he feels at home, he will give you a big smile and answer: “Wherever polo is played”. The 53-year-old Argentinian, who has been responsible for the games and training at PPZ since it was founded, could not imagine a life without polo. His family has been closely connected to polo for generations and they own and operate the “San Francisco de Asis Polo Farm” in the Provincia de Buenos Aires. It is a typical Argentinian polo training centre, breeding their own polo ponies. In Argentina polo is almost as popular as soccer and therefore not at all viewed as something exclusive.

For several years Francisco and his brothers toured as professional polo players throughout the international polo scene. Francisco and Martin have now settled down in PPZ, providing their knowledge as trainers and playing in tournaments for their employers’ teams.

When winter arrives in Switzerland – from October until March – the Podesta’s enjoy family time, returning to their homeland and to their farm. Most Argentinians involved in polo do so – on the one hand to play polo and on the other to train their own bred polo ponies.

Polo ponies from „San Francisco de Asis Polo Farm“ are very much in demand. This is underlined by the fact that most Polo Park Zürich active members are mounted on ponies supplied by Francisco and Martin Podesta. He states that “breeding and selling horses is a significant economic factor for me and my family. It also fills me with pride to export horses bred on our farm to Europe and especially to Switzerland”.

Organisation

Organisation + management au Polo Park Zurich

 

Organisation des entraînements et cours individuels

C’est à Francisco Podesta, l’entraîneur et le manager du Club, que revient la formation et les entraînements au Polo Park Zürich. Ce professionnel argentin dirige, en outre, les entraînements de groupe et entraînements tactiques les jeudis de 19 à 20 heures. Des entraînements privés, cours particuliers, voire des entraînements en équipe peuvent aussi être organisés. Selon les besoins, les employés du PPZ peuvent également entraîner les chevaux des membres. Francisco Podesta prend également volontiers les inscriptions pour des cours de découverte au 079 424 28 14 (de mai à septembre).

Le manager du club Francisco Podesta


Si on demande à Francisco Podesta où il se trouve chez lui, il répond en riant: « partout, où on joue au polo ». Une vie sans polo ne serait pas possible pour cet argentin de 53 ans, qui est depuis la fondation du Polo Park Zürich son entraîneur professionnel et manager. La famille Podesta est liée au polo depuis des générations. Elle possède et exploite dans la province de Buenos Aires la « San Francisco de Asis Polo Farm », un centre de formation au polo typiquement argentin, avec un important haras. En Argentine, le polo est presque aussi populaire que le football et n’est donc absolument pas exclusif.

Pendant de nombreuses années, Francisco et ses frères ont participé au circuit des tournois internationaux de polo en tant que joueurs professionnels. Entre-temps, Francisco et Martin ont élu domicile au PPZ, et partagent leur savoir en tant qu’entraîneurs tout en participant aux tournois dans les équipes de leurs employeurs.

Les Podestas profitent de la vie en famile d’octobre à mars. Lorsqu’en Suisse, l’hiver règne sans partage, ils retournent en Argentine, comme le font presque tous les joueurs argentins. D’une part, pour participer à des tournois, mais aussi pour préparer les jeunes chevaux du haras à une éventuelle importation en Europe.

Les poneys de polo de la « San Francisco de Asis Polo Farm » sont très recherchés. Le fait doit être souligné que Francisco et Martin Podesta montent la majorité des membres actifs du Polo Park Zurich avec des chevaux de leur haras. « L’élevage et la vente de chevaux sont pour moi et ma famille un facteur économique important. Cela me rend très fier, d’exporter des produits de notre élevage vers l’Europe et surtout vers la Suisse. »