History

Polo conquers the world and comes to Zurich

Luxury 2016 (7)The origin of polo dates back more than two and a half thousand years and developed somewhere between the Euphrates and the Tigris and has since conquered the world. At the end of the 19th century, English cavalry officers, who were spending their holidays in St. Moritz, brought polo to Switzerland. Still today in the Engadine, it is very fashionable to play on a snow-covered frozen lake. Whether for competition or for fun, polo is also played in Gsaad, in Veytay near Geneva, in Bern, Zug, and in the Zürich region.

 

Polo Park Zürich is the biggest club in canton Zurich. It originated in 1998 through the initiative of the Zurich investment manager, Markus Gräff, who founded the club for a wide and interested circle together with his wife, Irene Gräff, and Manfred Schuler, especially addressing people who wanted to learn to play polo from the basics on up. Therefore, it is not surprising that within a short time, PPZ became not only the most active club in the country, but also the one with the highest number of members.

Meanwhile, the club has more than 30 active and stick & ball members and over 100 VIP members. Also, the Kids Club, which was founded in 2006, enjoys great popularity, ensuring that the young polo generation is properly trained in riding and game tactics.

Every level of polo can be played at the Polo Park Zürich. A varied program is offered with various training courses, club competitions, top-class tournaments (e.g. the Piaget Polo Open, Luxury Trophy or the Ladies’ Cup). as well as other sport and social events.

info@polopark.ch

Geschichte

Polo erobert die Welt und kommt nach Zürich

Luxury 2016 (7)Polo wurde vor mehr als zweieinhalbtausend Jahren irgendwo zwischen Euphrat und Tigris erfunden und eroberte im Laufe der Jahrhunderte die ganze Welt. Ende des 19. Jahrhunderts kam Polo durch englische Kavallerie-Offiziere, die in St. Moritz Urlaub machten, auch in die Schweiz. Im Engadin wird dem Spiel bis heute auf exklusiver Schneeunterlage gefrönt. Wettkampfmässig und/oder als reiner Zeitvertreib wird Polo ausserdem in Gstaad, Veytay bei Genf, Bern sowie in der Region Zürich gespielt.

 

Der Polo Park Zürich ist der größte Club im Kanton Zürich.. Er entstand 1998 durch die Initiative des Zürcher Vermögensverwalters Markus Gräff. Zusammen mit seiner Gattin Irene Gräff sowie mit Manfred Schuler gründete er den Club und öffnete ihn von Anfang an für breite, interessierte Kreise und vor allem auch für Leute, die das Polospiel von Grund auf erlernen möchten. So erstaunt es nicht, dass der PPZ innert Kürze zum aktivsten und auch kopfstärksten Polo-Club des ganzen Landes geworden ist.

Inzwischen sind mehr als 30 Aktiv- und Stick & Ball-Members sowie über 80 VIP-Mitglieder eingeschrieben. Einer großen Beliebtheit erfreut sich auch der 2006 gegründete Kids Club, in dem dafür gesorgt wird, dass auch der Polo-Nachwuchs sowohl reiterlich als auch spieltechnisch ausgebildet wird.

Im Polo Park Zürich kann auf jedem Niveau gespielt werden. Angeboten wird ein abwechslungsreiches Programm mit Trainings, Kursen, Club-Wettkämpfen und hochkarätigen Turnieren (z.B. Piaget Polo Open, Luxury Trophy oder Ladies’ Cup) sowie Teilnahmen an anderen sportlichen und gesellschaftlichen Events.

Für weitere Informationen wenden Sie sich bitte an: info@polopark.ch