History

Polo conquers the world and comes to Zurich

Luxury 2016 (7)The origin of polo dates back more than two and a half thousand years and developed somewhere between the Euphrates and the Tigris and has since conquered the world. At the end of the 19th century, English cavalry officers, who were spending their holidays in St. Moritz, brought polo to Switzerland. Still today in the Engadine, it is very fashionable to play on a snow-covered frozen lake. Whether for competition or for fun, polo is also played in Gsaad, in Veytay near Geneva, in Bern, Zug, and in the Zürich region.

 

Polo Park Zürich is the biggest club in canton Zurich. It originated in 1998 through the initiative of the Zurich investment manager, Markus Gräff, who founded the club for a wide and interested circle together with his wife, Irene Gräff, and Manfred Schuler, especially addressing people who wanted to learn to play polo from the basics on up. Therefore, it is not surprising that within a short time, PPZ became not only the most active club in the country, but also the one with the highest number of members.

Meanwhile, the club has more than 30 active and stick & ball members and over 100 VIP members. Also, the Kids Club, which was founded in 2006, enjoys great popularity, ensuring that the young polo generation is properly trained in riding and game tactics.

Every level of polo can be played at the Polo Park Zürich. A varied program is offered with various training courses, club competitions, top-class tournaments (e.g. the Piaget Polo Open, Luxury Trophy or the Ladies’ Cup). as well as other sport and social events.

info@polopark.ch

Histoire

Le polo conquiert le monde et vient à Zurich

Luxury 2016 (7)Le polo a été inventé il y a plus de deux mille cinq cents ans quelque part entre le Tigre et l’Euphrate et il s’est répandu au cours des siècles dans le monde entier. Il arrive en Suisse à la fin du XIXième siècle, apporté par des officiers anglais qui passaient des vacances à St. Moritz. Jusqu’à aujourd’hui en Engadine, il est prisé de jouer sur un lac gelé couvert de neige. Que ce soit pour des compétitions ou pour passer le temps, le polo est également joué à Gstaad, Veytay près de Genève, Berne, Zoug, ainsi que dans la région de Zürich.

 

Le Polo Park Zürich est le plus grand club dans la région de Zurich. Il a été fondé en 1998 grâce à l’initative de l’administrateur de biens Markus Gräff. Ensemble avec son épouse Irene Gräff, et Manfred Schuler, il créa le club et l’ouvrit dès le départ à un large cercle d’intéressés, et surtout pour des gens qui désiraient découvrir et apprendre à jouer au polo. Il n’est donc pas étonnant que le PPZ soit devenu en peu de temps le club le plus actif et le plus important en nombre de membres de tout le pays.

Entre-temps, plus de 30 membres actifs et Stick & Ball, et plus de 100 membres VIP se sont inscrits. Le Kids club, créé en 2006, rencontre également un vif succès, assurant la formation de la jeune génération aussi bien en équitation que dans les finesses du jeu.

Au Polo Park Zürich il est possible de jouer à tous niveaux. Il est proposé un programme diversifié avec entraînements, cours, compétitions internes ou tournois de haut-niveau (comme p. ex. Le Piaget Polo Open, le Luxury Trophy ou la Ladies’ Cup), ainsi que la participation à d’autres événements sportifs ou mondains.

info@polopark.ch