Polo in Switzerland

Polo basics and rules

Luxury 2016 (7)“The origin of polo disappears in the darkness of the time”. That’s how the well-known sport scientist Carl Diem summarizes his intensive research about this fascinating team sport in his classical work “Asian Horse Riding Games”. Nobody knows when exactly polo appeared amongst the horse people of Central Asia. It only is certain that polo is being played since 2700 years already. It all started in Persia and from there the game conquered the oriental world.

At first this fascinating game was known as “Chaugán” and rapidly spread over whole Asia. When the Tibetans took the game over, they named it “Pulu” (ball). Polo was an important indicator for political hegemony and was frequently played to determine the position of a minister or of the military. In ancient China even a promotion needed to be obtained through a polo game. If the sporting performance of a public official decreased, he also was degraded as a result.

The game also was an important part of the social life and therefore, appears in many traditions. An example is the description about Kalif von Bagdad, Haroun-al-Rashid (766 until 809 AD). He was described being so small during his youth, ”that he couldn’t reach the ball with the stick while sitting on a horse”.

However, only in 1859 polo leapt over to the United Kingdom and Europe. British officers of the 10th Husan regiment, who were based in colonies and who got to know polo in India at the court of Maharadschas of Manipur, didn’t want to do without polo as a new leisure activity in their home country. In 1873 the first polo club in the western world was founded in London and to this day is that yearbook the set of rules and regulations. From England, polo then spread over the whole world to America, Argentina, New Zealand and also Switzerland (see ‘Polo in Switzerland’).

The American media-tycoon James Gordon Bennett introduced polo into the USA. During a stay in England in 1876 he became so enthusiastic about the game, that he bought the equipment in bulk and started with the selection and training of suitable horses right after his return. The USA was the first country to introduce a handicap system in 1888 and was followed by the UK and India in 1910.

In 1877 introduced the English farmer and landowner David Shennan, polo on his farm in Buenos Aires. Seven years later already 21 polo clubs were existing in Argentina. Since the 30-ies of the 20th century is Argentina the leading country in polo and this not only in terms of the players but also of the outstanding breeding success of polo ponies.

Polo also was several times an Olympic discipline between 1900 and 1936. The English team won in Paris in 1900, in London in 1908 and in Antwerp in 1920. In 1924 however, they had to be content with the 3rd place after Argentina and the USA. During the Olympic Games in Berlin in 1936, polo was the discipline with more spectators than any other discipline. Argentina won that year over England and Mexico. Polo was cancelled from the Olympic Games after the 2nd World War due to the fact that there were too less associations on Olympic level.

Polo in Switzerland – an unchecked boom

Magenta 2014 (10)As polo started to being played around the whole world, the game also was brought to Switzerland. The beginnings are not officially documented but the tracks clearly lead to St. Moritz. At the end of the 19th century, English cavalry officers spent their holidays in the Engadin and used their leisure time with playing polo. It is assumed that they had done military service in India, where they had learned how to play this fast game.

However, it is known for sure that in 1898 the polo field was built in St. Moritz Bad and put into operation. In the following summer the British officers were again in the Engadin when they received the order to return to their regiment and to sail to South Africa in order to fight in the Boer War.

Polo completely disappeared in St. Moritz after the First World War and only emerged again in the early 60ies of the last century. The residentiary family Berry and Matthis regularly received friends’ visits from North Italy and they played friendly games together. Eventually, Reto Gaudenzi founded the St. Moritz Polo team in 1978 and since 1985 the worldwide unique “World Cup on Snow” is being played on the frozen lake of St. Moritz. Furthermore, during summer in 1993 the Polo European Championship took place on the equestrian field in San Gian and during summer in 1995 it was the Polo World Championship.

The first polo club in the region Zürich was the Zürich Polo Club. It was built on the facilities of the jumping- and dressage stables Balsiger in 1987 (the field is smaller than the official size). In 1993 the club was dislocated to Hombrechtikon and the foundation was initiated through the Family Dillier, Werner Meier, Adriano Agosti and Thomas Rinderknecht. In the meantime the Limmattal Polo Club had been created on the area in Dietikon.

In 1990 the Pioneers Polo Club in Guntmadingen was founded as a result of the initiative of the committed polo enthusiast Bernard Zollinger. At the same time the Veytay Polo Club in the French-speaking part of Switzerland opened its doors. Nowadays, the club, located in Mies and which is owned by Yves Luginbühl, counts around 25 active members with 120 ponies. The infrastructure consists of two full-size-fields and one big stick & ball field and is simply fantastic.

In 1998 the vision of the fund manager Markus Gräff become true and the Polo Park Zürich in Unter-Ohringen was established. Within short time the club has developed to being the biggest training centre within Switzerland and is the polo club with the highest amount of members in the country.

In spring of 2006 polo club Bern open its doors in the Hunziken Park in Rubigen. By now the club has been relocated to Witrach in the flat area of the Aaretal.

The youngest clubs in CH are: Legacy Polo Club, that was founded in 2012 and Zug Polo Club, founded in 2015.

Overview of the Game


Polo is a ball- and team sport. Just as in soccer, also in polo two teams are playing against each other with the aim to score more goals than the opposite team. A team only consists of four players. Therefore, it is important that all four players work together as a unity and the team heavily relies on each individual performance.

Each player has a specific position and task within the team, which is indicated by the different numbers on the shirts of the players. Number one is the “forward”, number two the “preparer”, number three the “playmaker”, and also the pivot within the team, and number four (also called ‘the back’) is the “back” and always plays in the very back position.

The handicap of each player is based on his/her performance during the whole season and is determined by a national commission. The range is on a scale between -2 and +10 (worldwide only a few dozen players, mostly Argentinians, do have the maximum handicap of +10). The criteria for determining the handicap are positioning, strength of the stroke, team spirit and ability on the horse. All handicaps of each player added together form the total handicap of the team. If one team has a lower total handicap than the opponent team, it receives a lead over the opposite goal, based on the difference between the team’s total handicaps.

There would not be any polo game without the horses, which are called polo ponies. The pony is much more than just an aid to the human. Horse and player form a partnership in which both are relying on each other. The player not only must know how to ride the horse, he also must be able to pass concentration, passion and determination to it.

Normally a game consists of four (maximum eight) playing periods, which are called chukkas. One chukka lasts seven and a half minutes (playing time). If the game has to be stopped due to the fall of a horse, the losing of a bandage or the disorder of the horse’s bridle, the time is stopped. However, the time is not stopped when the player falls off the horse and is unhurt. After each chukka, there is a small break where the players change horses. The horses may only be used twice per day maximum. After two chukkas, thus half time, the spectators are requested to go on the field and tread in the thrown up pieces of grass.

The game is led by two referees on horses. In case they have discrepancies about a decision, the tournament referee (third man) decides from the side of the playing field. Behind each goal one goal line referee is standing for indicating when a goal is scored. They are essential as the field is very big and the ball quite small. Their job is not really hazard-free, as it requires a lot of concentration and preciseness. They wave a flag over their heads if a goal is scored and if the ball is out, they wave the flag below their hips.

Download the rules

Polo en Suisse

Le polo en quelques règles

Le plus vieux sport d’équipe du monde

Luxury 2016 (7)« Les origines du polo se perdent dans la nuit des temps ». C’est ainsi que le célèbre scientifique, spécialisé dans le sport, Carl Diern, résume dans son oeuvre classique sur les « jeux équestres asiatiques » ses études intensives sur ce jeu d’équipe fascinant. Personne ne peut vraiment dire quand est exactement apparu le polo chez les peuples cavaliers d’Asie centrale. Il est cependant certain que le polo était déjà joué il y a plus de 2700 ans en Perse et de là partit à la conquête du monde oriental.

Ce jeu fascinant fut tout d’abord connu sous le nom « Chaugán » et se répandit rapidement dans toute l’Asie. Les tibétains qui se l’approprièrent, lui donnèrent le nom « Pulu » (balle). Le polo servait d’ascenseur professionnel. Il n’était pas rare qu’un poste de ministre ou de militaire soit joué au polo. Dans la Chine ancienne, c’est même au polo qu’une promotion devait être gagnée. Dès que la capacité sportive s’amoindrissait, le fonctionnaire en question était promptement rétrogradé.

Le jeu faisait également partie de la vie sociale et se retrouve dans de nombreuses traditions. On le retrouve par exemple à propos du calife de Bagdad, Haroun-al-Rachid (766 à 809 après J.C.), qui était si petit dans son enfance, « qu’il ne pouvait pas à cheval atteindre la balle avec son maillet. »

L’arrivée en Europe et surtout en Angleterre ne se produisit cependant qu’en 1859. Les officiers britaniques du 10ième régiment de hussards stationnés dans les colonies, avaient fait la connaissance du polo à la cour du Maharadjah de Manipur et rapportèrent au pays ce nouveau passe-temps. Le Hurlingham Club fut le premier club de polo occidental, fondé à Londres en 1873. Il reste jusqu’ aujourd’hui la référence pour les règles. Le polo se répand ensuite dans le monde entier, en Amérique, Argentine, Nouvelle-Zélande, Australie et également en Suisse (Voir la rubrique le polo en Suisse).

Le polo fut apporté aux USA par le tycoon des médias James Gordon Bennett. Il se passionna tellement pour le jeu lors d’un séjour en 1876 en Angleterre, qu’il acheta des équipements en gros. A son retour aux USA, il démarra immédiatement un élevage de poneys de polo. Les USA furent les premiers à introduire le système de handicap en 1888. La Grande-Bretagne et l’Inde suivirent seulement en 1910.

David Shennan, fermier et grand propriétaire terrien anglais, introduisit le polo sur sa ferme à Buenos Aires en 1877. Sept ans plus tard, 21 clubs de polo avaient vu le jour. Depuis les années 30, l’Argentine est devenu le principal pays du polo – non seulement du fait de ses joueurs, mais également en raison de la qualité de l’élevage de ses poneys de polo, plus connus sous le nom de polo argentino.

Entre 1900 et 1936, le polo a été plusieurs fois discipline olympique. En 1900 à Paris, en 1908 à Londres, et en 1920 à Anvers, ce furent les anglais qui dominèrent. En 1924, ils n’obtinrent cependant que le troisième rang derrière l’Argentine et les USA. En 1936 à Berlin, le polo avait plus de spectateurs que tous les autres sports. L’Argentine gagna alors devant l’Angleterre et le Mexique. Après la seconde guerre mondiale, trop peu de fédérations ayant atteint le niveau olympique, le polo fût rayé de la liste des disciplines.

Le polo en Suisse – Un engouement ininterrompu

Magenta 2014 (10)Ce sport dynamique est arrivé en Suisse lors de son extention mondiale. Si ses débuts ne sont pas officiellement documentés, les premières traces remontent clairement vers St.-Moritz. A la fin du XIXième siècle, des officiers de cavalerie anglais partaient en vacances dans l’Engadine, et y passaient le temps entre-autre en jouant au polo. Peut-être avaient-ils servi auparavant en Inde et appris-là ce sport rapide.

Il est par contre sûr que le premier terrain de jeu a été planté en mis en service à St.Moritz Bad en 1898. L’été suivant, les officiers anglais étaient à nouveau dans l’Engadine, lorsqu’ils reçurent l’ordre de rejoindre leurs régiments pour aller en Afrique du Sud se battre contre les Boers.

Le polo disparut complètement de St-Moritz après la première guerre mondiale et réapparut seulement dans les années 60. Les familles Berry et Matthis établies-là recevaient régulièrement des amis d’Italie du Nord et organisaient avec eux des matchs amicaux. En 1978, Reto Gaudenzi fonda finalement le St. Moritz Polo Team, et depuis 1985 se déroule sur le lac gelé de St. Moritz le « World Cup on Snow » unique au monde. L’été 1933 a vu se jouer la coupe d’Europe de polo sur le terrain de San Gian. La coupe du monde s’y est jouée l’été 1935.

Le Zürich Polo Club a été le premier club de polo créé dans la région de Zürich. Il a été fondé en 1987 à Dietikon sur le terrain de l’écurie de saut d’obstacles et de dressage Balsinger (le terrain de jeu était plus petit que la taille réglementaire). En 1993, le club fut redéployé vers Hornbrechtikon, où un nouveau club fût formé sous l’égide de la familie Dillier, Werner Meier, Adriano Agosti et Thomas Rinderknecht. Pendant ce temps, sur le terrain de Dietikon, fut créé le Limmattal Polo Club.

En 1990 apparut à Guntmadingen le Pioneers Polo Club (à l’initiative du passionné de polo Bernard Zollinger). Le Veytey Polo Club ouvrit parallèlement ses portes en Romandie. Sur le terrain d’Yves Luginbuhl à Mies jouent 25 membres actifs et 120 poneys. L’infrastructure comprend deux terrains de jeu de taille réglementaire ainsi qu’un grand terrain de Stick & Ball.

En 1998 le Polo Park Zurich fut finalement créé à partir d’une idée de l’administrateur de biens Markus Gräff à Unter Ohringen. En peu de temps, il est devenu le plus grand centre d’initiation et polo club du pays par son nombre de membres.

Au printemps 2006, a ouvert le Polo Club de Berne dans le parc Hunziken à Rubigen. Depuis, le club a déménagé sur Witrach dans la plaine de la vallée de l’Aar. Le Polo Bern AG propose une offre importante de possibilités de jeu et d’entraînement pour joueurs confirmés et débutants. Puis est arrivé enfin en octobre 2012 le Legacy Polo club, fondé par les quatre membres enthousiastes du Rocinante Polo Team. Zug Polo Club a quant à lui été fondé en 2015.

Bref aperçu du jeu

Le polo est un jeu de balle qui se pratique en équipe. Deux équipes s’opposent, pour – comme pour le football – mettre plus de buts que l’équipe adverse. Une équipe de polo est constituée de seulement quatre joueurs et est donc très dépendante des capacités individuelles. Il est vital que les quatre joueurs fonctionnent comme une entité.

Chaque joueur occupe dans l’équipe une position et une fonction déterminées, reconnaissables aux numéros portés sur les tricots. Le numéro 1 est l’attaquant en pointe, le numéro 2 est le « prépareur », le numéro 3 le faiseur de jeu et donc le point central de l’équipe, le numéro 4 (appelé aussi « back) est le défenseur qui joue le plus souvent à l’arrière.

Le handicap d’un joueur se base sur les performances de toute une saison de jeu et est défini par une commission nationale. Le classement se fait sur une échelle de -2 à +10 (le handicap maximum de +10 n’est atteint mondialement que par dizaine de joueurs, pour la plupart argentins). Les critères en sont le jeu de position, la force de frappe, l’esprit d’équipe et les connaissances en équitation. Le handicap d’une équipe est la somme des handicaps de ses quatre membres. Si une équipe a lors d’un match un handicap général inférieur à l’équipe adverse, elle reçoit alors un avantage de but, qui correspond à la différence de handicap.

Les chevaux (appelés poneys au polo) font aussi partie de l’équipe. Le poney est bien plus qu’un instrument pour l’homme. Le joueur et son cheval forment un partenariat, dans lequel les deux parties sont dépendantes l’une de l’autre. Le joueur ne doit pas seulement savoir monter à cheval, mais il doit également transmettre à sa monture l’esprit du jeu, la concentration, la passion et la détermination.

Un match consiste normalement en quatre (maximum 8) parties, appelées chukkas. Une chukka dure sept minutes et demi (uniquement le jeu actif). Lors des interruptions de match, la chute d’un cheval, lorsqu’un bandage se défait, ou si le harnais se retrouve en désordre, le temps de jeu est interrompu. Le temps n’est pas arrêté si un cavalier est victime d’une chute bénigne. Après chaque chukka, une pause de 3 minutes à lieu pour permettre de changer de cheval. Un cheval ne peut pas jouer plus de 2 chukkas par jour. Lors de la mi-temps, après deux chukkas, les spectateurs sont invités sur le terrain pour remettre les mottes de gazon.

Le match est contrôlé par deux arbitres à cheval, les Umpires. S’ils sont en désaccord sur une décision, un arbitre principal (third man) décide à partir du bord du terrain. Il y a en outre des juges de but (un emploi un peu dangereux qui demande une attention permanente). Ils sont nécessaires car le terrain est très grand et la balle très petite. Le juge de but agite le drapeau au-dessus de sa tête si un but est valable, et en-dessous de sa taille, si la balle est dehors.

Télécharger les règles